MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Stuck by Mikael
October 22, 2009, 9:33 am
Filed under: A Little Me, College, Unhappy, Updates, Utah, Venting

One thing I hate is when people ask me what I’m going to do with an English degree.  A lot of people assume that an English majors end up teaching and it’s simply not true.  In fact, your major doesn’t always define what your career will be (the other day I met a Massage Therapist who had a degree in English!). For example, right now I’m working in Information Technology while I’m majoring in English but my dream career is Performing.  Yes, I’m all over the board. 

Another thing I hate is looking through music and play auditions and thinking that I have too much on my plate as a student so I don’t end up submitting myself to them.  I have responded a couple times but it usually turns out that I can’t do it because of my current obligations… And that utterly kills me.  Hell, I’d give anything to work on my songwriting 24/7 so I can produce a CD of my own creations.  I’m an artist and currently a very deprived one at that.  If I had my way, I’d be in a musical right now and school would be on the back-burner. 

A degree is better than nothing, but right now I’m getting so sick of school taking such a high priority in my life.  I love learning, but school doesn’t do it for me.  It’s messed up, I know.  It’s just that I prefer learning by doing, not sitting in a lecture or discussion course. 

There are so many things I want to do and I feel like there is no time!  Only a year and a half left of college.  Seems like an eternity.  And what aggravates me is that if it weren’t for the stupid foreign language requirement, I could be done with college this Spring!  Do you have any idea how infuriating that is?

People say college is supposed to be the time of your life.  Such is the case if you actually live on campus.  I don’t live on campus, thus I don’t really participate in school other than commuting to class Monday through Thursday.  However, I’m going to my first ever college football game this weekend so that ought to be fun. But that’s beside the point.  I don’t feel like I’m having the time of my life.  Cambridge has been the ultimate highlight of my college career!  It got me out of Utah to study… Maybe if I’d gone out-of-state for college, I’d have more fun.  But no, I stayed instate to keep costs down in a college that is still fairly reputable.  It’ll give me my degree.

I’m stuck here… in Utah, at school, doing things that are so mundane that I’m exhausted of doing them for so long. I need something fresh, something that will motivate me to be better than I am, and teach me things that engage my mind and body.  I want music to be my top priority again… it hasn’t been since my freshman year of college. Then my jaw locked.  Perhaps that’s the reason behind all of this.  My jaw is stuck so I’m trapped… Interesting metaphor and it even fits! 

But I want to break it.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Mikael, I can relate. Sometimes I wish I’d gone somewhere else besides slcc, but like you, I did the sensible and economical thing… That and slcc has one of the best photo programs around :P. There are times I want to scream because school has taken up so much of my life. The current education system sucks. People don’t care if you learn, they just want you to get a degree.

Hang in there, if anyone can make it, it’s you :). And you’re almost done too! Love ya and maybe we can have a study group when I move back to Sandy.

Comment by sheadaisy

Hi! I just found your blog from your guest post on Vixations and was just clicking around reading about you. I graduated 3 years ago this spring with a degree in English Lit…My mom also has one (from Univ of Utah, actually) and is a professor, so everyone always (!) assumed I was following in her footsteps. I work in online media and have NO desire ever to teach! I can totally relate – English majors are grossly under-rated and underappreciated.

Comment by sgba




Sing to me!

