MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Let Me Sing by Mikael
November 9, 2009, 10:48 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Music, Song Writing, TMJ

Ever wonder how I got the title “Let Me Sing” for this blog? Well, the title of my blog came from a very particular song. Back when I was 11, my voice teacher (who was Dan Whitley at the time) assigned me to sing a song that he said would challenge me.  One of the Jackson family (as in Michael Jackson) wrote it according to him, though I’m not quite sure who.  I wish I did know though because I feel like I owe them so much.  This song is like my anthem!  Sad part is, I haven’t sung it in about 5 years.  The tape that the song was on remained lost among my plethora of voice lesson tapes.  Fear not… after a long time of searching and longing to hear the song again, tonight I found the tape! I did a little leap for joy if you can imagine that.

Here are the lyrics that have inspired me for the last ten years~

Let me sing
Let me fill the air with sound
Hear the music all around
I’m waiting to be found

Let me sing
Let me warm your heart with song
In this moment I belong
I’m ready for the dawn
When I sing, let my simple song float free
To carry me on wings of melody

Let me sing
Let me set your spirit free
Let me whisper tenderly
Things I hold inside of me
When I sing, my heart is in my song
I sing of things that eyes can never see

Let me sing
Let me fill the air with sound
Hear the music all around
I am ready to be found
When I sing, let my simple song float free
Let me sing, oh let me sing
Let me sing

Let me sing
Let me warm your heart with song
In this moment, I belong
Let me sing out clear and strong
When I sing, forever let my song float free
To carry me on wings of melody
Let me sing
Oh
Let me sing

The melody is even more beautiful!  Whitley assigned it to me to challenge me… and let me say this, this song still challenges me to this day!  It’s an incredibly difficult song that sits almost right along my passegiatta, or vocal break.

When my jaw locked in the summer of ’08, I was devastated. The only thing that was running through my mind was, “Please make it so I can still sing… Singing’s my life. I’d die without it.”  And the title of my blog, “Let Me Sing”, was like a plea during that particularly horrifying struggle in my life.  My jaw is still locked unfortunately, but guess what? I’m able to sing whatever I want, whenever I want, however long I want!  Granted my jaw doesn’t kill me which it rarely ever does anymore.

I sang this song tonight and it’s reminded me of how much I miss performing live.  I remember when I used to be in some sort of show like a musical, play, opera, or even Clayton Productions (my old singing and dancing group) every year from the time I was 8 until I was 18.  To think that I haven’t been in a production since then is more than a little painful.

What the hell happened to me? College took a front seat and it thoroughly pisses me off. Hirers don’t care if you learn, they only care if you get a degree. Like I said in my last post, I want to make music my priority again, truly. I just wish there was a way I could “rearrange” my life, so to speak.

I will say this though… These past couple days, I have been on a creativity high. Three song ideas have come to me, both lyrics and music.  Plus I’ve started writing a historical fiction project that I’m really enthusiastic about.

Great… now onto homework.  Can’t I just be put into a creative coma until I graduate?  Please?!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It is beautiful, and I can definitely see how it related to you!!

And this? “Hirers don’t care if you learn, they only care if you get a degree.”

Truer words NEVER spoked!

Comment by LiLu

*spoken, even. ;-)

Comment by LiLu




Sing to me!

