MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


All I Ever Wanted by Mikael

If I could touch one lonely soul
If I could heal and be so bold
To be a spark, to be a light
Set one heart on fire
That’s all I ever wanted

If I’m not much mistaken, that is what every performer wants to achieve besides being able to do what they love.  If they don’t, then they are most likely in the business for the wrong reasons (aka: money, fame, power, etc).

This past spring, Bobby McFerrin performed at Kingsbury Hall in downtown Salt Lake City.  Various music majors at the University of Utah got the opportunity to meet with him and perform at his concert.  I was literally kicking myself for stopping my music degree (for reasons completely out of my control… partly) and missing out on an opportunity like that.  Luckily, having friends still in the music program gave me a chance to talk to them about what went down during that momentous occasion in their lives.  Something he told them came back to me today while I listened to Kate Earl’s “All I Ever Wanted”.

He said that he may be performing for hundreds if not thousands of people, but he does it to touch the one person in the audience that either needs it most or is open enough to really experience the performance.  If he touches someone, then he feels he has done his job.  He feels like he succeeded in bringing the music to life if just one person allows it to penetrate them… to change their life.

As it happened, I absolutely loved his concert.  He’s a truly inspiring musical artist and he did things that still blow my mind.  Could I have been one of those people during his concert?  As far as I’m concerned, there has only been one show where I honestly believe I was that one person–during Celine Dion’s concert when I was 19.  I’ve never felt anything like that in my life and I wonder if I’ll ever experience it again.  Her concert completely reaffirmed my dream of becoming a singer.

All I know is that I want to be able to do that for someone too.  If I can manage to touch more than one… I just can’t even imagine at this point.  But it’s a dream of mine to touch people through music.  It’s all I’ll ever want.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Sing to me!

