MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Pick a Genre by Mikael
January 5, 2010, 4:52 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Dreams, Music, Singing

A question multitudes of people have asked and my mind goes about four different directions: what genre would you like to sing?

And I hate that I have no idea.  I just enjoy singing so much that it usually doesn’t matter what I sing.  The other hard part is that I’ve heard I’m good at classical singing… and country… and musical theatre… and power pop.  Everyone tells me something different so I have no idea which I’m best at.  I’d like to think I’m good at punk rock (think Paramore) or symphonic metal (Evanescence) but honestly, I have no clue. UGH!  Yes, it’s a trying dilemma for almost every aspiring singer.  It doesn’t help that I love so many genres.

Hip-hop, R&B, rap, etc doesn’t exactly work on my voice… and I wouldn’t like singing stuff like that for the rest of my life. So that’s the one for sure no.  And I have too rich of a voice to really pull off something like Regina Spektor or Natasha Bedingfield.

How would you figure something like this out?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

They’re all good… but country is the most FUN. ;-)

Comment by LiLu

do you HAVE to pic a genre? you could just be a superstar and sing EVERYTHING! :)

Comment by Kelly

I hear ya, sort of kind of in a not really kind of way. Photographers kind of do the same, we have to pick our niche. What it all comes down to is what you love combined with what you’re best at and what you can market yourself as. We all think you’re amazing at whatever you do, but surely you must think you’re better at one thing over another, right?

Comment by sheadaisy




Sing to me!

