MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Flash Fiction Thursday~ Blink by Mikael
July 29, 2010, 12:02 pm
Filed under: Flash Fiction Thursday, Imagine, Stories, Writing

So forgive me… I’m staying away from Italy one more time.  I really miss Flash Fiction Thursdays and this one has been waiting to be posted since before I left for Italy, so gosh darn it–it deserves to be here!  Next will be Italy though.  I’m hoping to finish up the series in the next week.  Some credit goes to my buddy Ryan because he gave me the idea of someone not needing a certain natural human behavior… Read on for more. =) Comments, critiques, etc., are more than welcome.

“How do you do it, Noelle?” asks my brother Jeremy for the thirty-seven-hundredth time. (He just bought me a new iPod with the nickels I’d earn from each time he’s asked that one!)  Once again, he is trying to stay up all night just to try and see how long I can go without blinking.  He has done this test several times throughout my entire life, and nearly every time he falls asleep then I can blink all I want.

I, on the other hand, don’t need sleep.  Each blink gives me energy.  I sound crazy, don’t I?  The doctors said I go through one full sleep cycle when I blink or something like that.  It’s weird, I know.  But I can go without blinking for… hmmm.  Well, the last time I tested it out for myself, I lasted two days without blinking but I can’t quite remember if that was last month or last year.  Time seriously melts together when distinguishing days isn’t just a nights’ sleep difference.  What was three days ago still feels like today.

“Like I’ve told you before, I just do it!” He grunts angrily. The circles around his eyes are truly horrific, like a little kid had given him shiners in both eyes or something.  We’ve been at this for fifteen hours, since we got home from school yesterday afternoon.  Which means Jeremy hasn’t seen his bed in nearly a full day.  Not to mention the fact that he spent his Friday night trying to outdo me when he could have been out with his friends or, God forbid, with the girl who has been at his beckon call for the past month.

Poor guy.  Though I must say that he’s gotten better at enduring his sleepless hours!  Jeremy glares at me, challenging me but only for a moment before huffing and getting to his feet. This time he doesn’t even bother announcing that he’ll beat me sooner or later.  After sixteen years, I think he’s finally getting the hint that he never will.

“That’s just not normal,” he mumbles to himself as he treads to his bedroom.  That’s not the first time I’ve heard that one either.  Five chimes echo from our grandfather clock in our front hallway.  Yet again, I win.  I close my eyes in what people would say is a blink, and feel that familiar shiver run through my body starting in my toes then escalating to the top of my head.  It maybe lasts all of a few seconds.  Instantly rejuvenated, I reopen my eyes to see the sun nearly peeking in through the window.  Time to go for a run.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I LOVE the concept of this!!! Amazing. I really want to know what happens with this girl!

Comment by slightlyignorant

This is so cool!! Amazing idea!

Comment by Marliz3e

Very intriguing!

Comment by unabridgedgirl




Sing to me!

