MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


3 Month Zipper by Mikael
August 8, 2010, 9:27 am
Filed under: A Little Me, Budding Blossom, Crushes, Friends, Kurious, Love, Relationships

Recently, I came across Don’t Be a Crazy B*tch’s Wait 3 Months and it made me think.  Crazy B*tch says experts advise waiting three months before telling anyone about a new guy you’re seeing so as to not ruin the “getting to know each other” stage.  It also gives one the time to decide if they want to be with someone in the long run. Understandable in every respect.

I think I see another side to this… everyone’s assumptions and ideas of the guy won’t get mixed with your own perceptions if you keep them separate.  If you introduce them from the get-go, odds are they will pick him apart in front of you or say he’s so perfect that you’d be crazy to get rid of him.  Having those extra opinions bartering for your attention along with your own could skew your own perceptions on a guy thus possibly ending up in an undesirable situation (relationship you’re not really invested in or getting rid of someone who could have been worth getting to know more).  I would think someone would need time to firmly get a feeling for a guy before dating them and telling everyone and their dog about it.

(Like I should talk… my last relationship started after just a week and lasted only 2 months.  Lesson learned for sure!)

What gets me though is this:  how can someone keep quiet about someone they really like for that long?  Or how do you respond to the people in your life who you confide in most when they ask when they ask about your dating life? Personally, I find it hard to keep those kinds of things from my BFF.  I tell her everything.  And since I’m still living at home with my parents (cheap student option), my mom likes to know everything too… (HI MOM!)

A good friend of mine the other day suggested just saying you’re hanging out with friends, and I think I like his perspective on it.  Don’t really announce that you’re dating per se but that you’re making and building friendships which virtually that’s what you are doing in the long run!  The person you date should most definitely be a considered a friend.  And if it doesn’t work out that way, then you gain a new friend in the process.

Just something to think about and try out the next time I’m into someone new.  Let’s see if I can keep my lips sealed for three months… sounds like a good challenge to me! =)

Image from choppingphotos.com

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ya i don’t have enough restraint to do something like that… i like to talk way too much…

Comment by kelly

Although I understand the logic behind it, I could never, never wait that long if I really liked the guy. At the most, all my friends and family knew about 3 weeks into us “getting to know” each other. I have a hard time keeping my own secrets.

Comment by Angie

3 months seems like a long time, but I do wait to tell people. I don’t like making a big deal out of it because I’m afraid I’ll jinx it, and I also wouldn’t want to have to tell all the people I told why something didn’t work out. So I just say I’m hanging out with someone until it’s maybe more serious. I def don’t like other people’s opinions too soon!

Comment by lilwanderer




Sing to me!

