MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Flash Fiction Thursday ~ Acorns by Mikael
August 12, 2010, 12:36 am
Filed under: Flash Fiction Thursday, Stories, Try, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , ,

When it comes to my WIP’s (works-in-progress), I usually stick with an idea long enough to get about 10,000 words and then a different idea distracts me.  I’m trying to break this habit and I’m actually focusing on one story.  I really hope I can see it through until the end.  Here is a scene that I’ve been dying to write but haven’t reached yet in my story… “Acorns” isn’t the working title for the WIP but it works for this scene.  Here’s the dialogue though, as I saw on a fellow writer’s blog a couple of weeks ago. It looked like a good exercise to me.  Now, allow me to introduce… Asher and Thora.

*   *   *

“Did you know acorns can bring you luck?”

“Who’s there?”

“Haven’t seen you around these parts before.”

“Who says I want to be seen by you?”

“Ouch… Pendergraff is your name, isn’t it?”

“What makes you think that?”

“Because they are the only other people at the park and you showed up with them.”

“Have you been spying on me?”

“Are you ever going to stop asking questions and just answer me?”

“I’m no Pendergraff, but I’m staying with them… what’s it to you anyway?”

“Only curious.  You’re new.  New things intrigue me.  Did you know that hair as curly as yours is most prone to frizz?”

“There’s nothing wrong with my hair!”

“I’m just saying!”

“Well, what makes you think I want to know anyway?”

“You’re a curious person.  I can tell.  You look at the Pendergraff’s as though you want something of theirs but I can’t figure out what it is.”

“Shut up.”

“So I’m right?”

“No!”

“Stubbornness won’t get you anywhere, you know?”

“Well, it’s worked for me the past sixteen years of my life, all right?”

“More like fifteen since most people don’t start talking until they’re a year old.”

“I know that.  I’m seventeen.  Almost eighteen.”

“Hey, our ages are fairly close.  So now that you’ve told me your age, why don’t you tell me your name?”

“Well, why don’t you… oh, I don’t know… buzz off?!”

“I’ll take what I can get, I guess.  I’ll weasel it out of you eventually.”

“That’s if you see me again, Creeper.”

“No promises.  See you later, Almost Eighteen.  You might want to hold onto that acorn though.  A thunderstorm is coming tonight.”

*   *   *

Have a great Thursday everyone!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ooo, that’s intriguing! What’s with the acorn? Magic or something?

Comment by Mckenzie

The luck of acorns is an old superstition. You may be onto something else in the story though… ;)

Comment by Mikael




Sing to me!

