MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


My Best Friends Wedding by Mikael
September 28, 2010, 12:21 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, College, Friends, Futuristic Musings, My Awesome Internship, Updates, Venting

Next April, my best friend is getting married to a great guy. In Florida. And I’m a bridesmaid. I’ve paid $95 for my dress already…

I’ve probably mentioned before that my current internship is compensated, but by means of my tuition and my books. And I can totally see why they told me that they don’t want me to have another job while I’m working at the sports office… I am swamped enough with the work they give me there, the events I have to attend, and then homework on top of that.

So the part-time job that I have had since graduating high school is getting the backburner. I’ve been training others to take over my job, but I say that really loosely as my last pay period only saw 5 hours from me. I can’t train anyone to write like I can and that’s why they want to keep me around. The security newsletter for my old office was the best part of that job, and my boss has told me that she doesn’t want to lose me because she hates to think about finding someone else with my writing skills.

But I’m afraid that she may have to lose me a lot sooner than expected. I just can’t handle it on top of everything else. But if that’s the case, then my minimal income that I’m already getting will be caput.

Now back to my best friend’s wedding. She’s having a location wedding in Florida. And that’s $300 at least in travel fare and her family said that sharing a room with another bridesmaid will lower costs of the hotel to $100 per girl for two nights. And right now, I’m already worried about funds for Christmas!

My concern? That I won’t be able to afford to go. I told her I wouldn’t miss her wedding for the world but my world’s finances have an extremely tight belt these days. An email from her recently said the rates right now are really good. I don’t have the money right now to pay for it!

Not to mention that I have a choir concert (and I need that ensemble to ensure my music minor at my graduation) the day of her wedding too… I can still pass the class if I don’t go to that one concert, but still. The type-A overachiever in me says to go. Luckily as far as I can tell, there are no sporting events to cover that weekend.

My mom has offered to help me monetary-wise if I need it, but she’s already strapped too so I hate putting her in that position. I don’t want to put her in that position.

I’m just at a loss at what to do.

And now I need to go to class.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Girl, that’s a tough one!! I wish you the best of luck and I do hope you find a solution!!

Comment by Marliz3e

i hope things work out for you. i’ve found myself in that situation before and it just plain sucks. good luck hun!

Comment by Nicole

money sucks.

wish i had a magical way to solve your problems but i don’t. :( i’m in the same financially dying boat.

i hope you find a way to work it out! love you!

Comment by kelly

Kelly, you were supposed to have magic! Darn… there goes my last hope ;) At least we’re in the same boat together. It’s just not a good boat to be in though.

Comment by Mikael

Not a fun situation for you at all but you need to think of YOU and then be honest with your best friend as quickly as possible and if she is your best friend she should understand. I mean it is a lot to ask of you and your schooling must come first and you don’t need the added stress. Good Luck!!

Comment by Lucy




Sing to me!

