MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Signature Scent by Mikael
November 10, 2010, 10:24 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Good Things, Remembering, Roam, Stories

So, weird story time…

After working at my old office, I walked down to my car in the garage which is currently under construction. Got in my car, swapped my pants, and had to get out in order to pull them up all the way and do the zipper dance.

Over to my car, saunters one of the construction workers.

“What is that you’re wearing?”

At first, I was like “Uh? Excuse me?”

“Your perfume? Or cologne?”

Oh, that!

“Yeah, I’m wearing some why?”

I hold out my wrist and he sniffs it.

“That’s it! I smelled it when you walked by earlier. I like it! Is it perfume or cologne? (at which point I’m thinking, only women wear perfume) What is it called?”

“Perfume. It’s called Elle.”

“Elle?”

“Yes, Elle. It’s by Yves Saint Laurent.” I had to repeat that name twice.

“It smells good!” And he walks away.

It was… interesting to say the least. I’m thinking he maybe wanted to buy it for his significant other? If not, then that was a strange attempt at trying to pick someone up, if that were his intent.

About this Elle perfume of mine. Of my five perfumes that I own, I believe Elle is my signature scent. There is yet another story behind this.

In the spring of 2008, I went to New York to see the Little Mermaid on Broadway (which was completely fabulous!). One day, I was walking the streets, hitting up the shops, when I came to Saks Fifth Avenue. It was my first time in there. After looking around for a bit, I was about to emerge back onto the street when a stand caught my eye. It was a stand for the sole purpose of promoting Elle as Yves Saint Laurent’s new fragrance. And I fell in love with the scent! I felt it was so me! So I had to buy it…

Immediately after ringing me up with my new perfume, the woman told me that the perfume had just been released that day and that I was the first person to purchase Elle from Saks Fifth Avenue New York. If that doesn’t say that this perfume is my signature scent, I don’t know what does! First person to own it? Yeah, that definitely means something. ;)

I’ve gone through two bottles since that fateful morning. And now, my bottle is nearly gone. *tear* Maybe for Christmas I’ll get another one. It’s my favorite perfume so I don’t know how long I’ll be able to live without it! It’s just so… me!

Do you feel like you have found your signature scent? What is it?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh Mikael, pardon my awkward comment, but you’ll have to let me smell you :P

My signature scent is actually 2 because I’m so dang indecisive. I’m not quite sure which one I love more. Cool Water by Davidoff or Coconut Lime Verbena by Bath and Body Works. I love them both :)

I would say we should have a perfume party, but I imagine that things would get too smelly too fast….

Comment by RaShea Drake

HAHAH! Shea I just love you. Nothing wrong with having two signature fragrances ;) Yeah a perfume party would definitely be smelly. We’d have to have a lot of coffee beans nearby to clear our noses in between tests!

Comment by Mikael




Sing to me!

