MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


When the Words Come by Mikael

Did you know I like to write songs?  Because I do.  Very much so.  My first “single”, for lack of a better term, was a blast to produce and I think it turned out pretty darn well. I finished it during my freshman year of college. But since then, I haven’t been completely dedicated to song writing as much as I would like.  Other priorities get the spotlight. Which is fine!  But there are days when I wish I could write songs or something like that for a living.

Now what about your creative time? What part of the day do you feel most inspired to create and imagine new things? Mine tends to be at one of the most inconvenient time for someone who values their sleep: in the dead of night. Seriously, I’ll be lying in bed trying to go to sleep when inspiration (or a dream!) will hit and I immediately have to wake up, pull out a notebook or go over to my keyboard to plunk it out.  It’s kind of frustrating but at the same time, it’s awesome. Feeling inspired is such a wonderful rush!  (Thus, making it harder to go back to sleep because my mind then starts to race at how wonderful my idea could be…)

Last night, I had that rush again. I blame it on one of my current love-life dilemmas. My love life right now is pretty… up in the air. I don’t want to get into details because it’s all too complicated and it’s an even longer story to try and explain everything and trying to keep every person and their story in alignment with everything else that’s going on in my world. You see this previous sentence? If it made sense to you, then maybe I’ll tell you later. Seriously, my BFF even struggled trying to keep up with it during our call last week… she got it though, but that’s just because she knows me all too well.

I’m not ready to go back to the meme… I’ll do that this week at some point, but I haven’t decided yet. But I did want to share a few lines from the song I started writing last night at 10:30 right as I was going to bed.  (So no stealing!) These are not sequential and not completely set in stone yet. One is from the first verse and the second is the last bit of the chorus that inspired the whole thing. Enjoy!

Conflict of interests, that’s what they’d say
I tell myself I don’t feel like this
That I don’t think about the feel of your touch
That I don’t ache for you every day
It might be so wrong but I can’t stop now
My heart’s in a battle of its own

It’s not that I don’t want to tell you everything about how I feel
For every part of me wishes that I could
But because of where we both are
These are the words I can’t say to you

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I also get a creative burst at night, or when I’m taking a shower.

I’ve always wondered exactly how people write songs, its been really hard for me. Maybe I’m just not musically creative or I haven’t tried hard enough, but I can write the words, I just can’t put them to music. I guess that’s why I stick to poetry.

Comment by Angie

Beautiful song. Not an expert but the should haves, the would haves, and the could haves do haunt you later in life.

Comment by booguloo




Sing to me!

