MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


What’s Wrong in the World by Mikael
February 11, 2011, 6:26 pm
Filed under: Imagine, Music, Open, Venting, Words of Wisdom, Writing | Tags: ,

There aren’t enough bloody rainbows! That’s what is wrong with the world!

But seriously… so many people focus on the bad and what is wrong when no one seems to notice all the good that IS going on. All the deaths, all the tragedies, all the ridiculous celebrity gossip (that I’m totally guilty of catching up on every so often), and so much more. I’m not saying that these things are unimportant, because in all sense and purposes, some are extremely important… but what I want to see more of is how people are helping. I like to believe in the innate goodness in mankind.

I think a big part of the problem is people say they are going to make positive changes, but either don’t follow through, create more problems because they don’t think the changes through, or the change actually won’t fix anything. If this happens to make sense to anyone but me, I may be amazed.

I’m not someone who would want to be president to “fix” things. I don’t want to fix things. Some things are already pretty much effed up. I don’t like wars. I don’t see the point. I don’t know why our country is involved in a problem that clearly isn’t ours to fight. The US has this unbearable need to stick their nose in everyone else’s business. Back in the day’s of the Revolutionary War and the Civil War, there really was something that was worth fighting for… but now, I’m not so sure. In all honesty, I stopped paying attention on the war against terror (is that even what it is anymore?) a long time ago simply because I didn’t see the point of it. I might even say that I’m ignorant of it and I’m okay with that. I may be judged for it, but I really just don’t care. I’m not sticking my nose into something that I’m not even interested in.

Here are some other “wrong” things in our world…

Pointing fingers. Clowns with pointed teeth. Presidents making radical changes that hurt more than they help for the first couple years of it. Spending money you don’t have. Chucky. Bad rap. Lies. Being nice only to someone’s face. Bigotry. Racism. LGB hate. Forcing your religion on others. Not accepting that everyone is different. Boys with bad breath. Girls with attitude problems. Things that break. Things that don’t do what they are supposed to. The birdy finger (birds are cute!). Bustin Jeiber. People who have fame and riches for doing absolutely nothing. Poverty. Hunger. Greed. Killing. Hate. Tears.

But here’s what’s right about our world…

Rainbows. Love. Compassion. Growth. A growing tolerance. Honor. Butterflies. Friends. Families. Loyalty. Puppy dogs. Literature. Truth. Volunteer work. Patience. Chocolate. Sunshine. Kindness. Eyes full of light shining despite strain. Tears filled with hope. Sharing. Swings. Smiles. Songs. Cookies, cakes, and brownies. Caring. Connecting. Knowledge and wisdom. Starry skies. Inspiring figures. Men who treat women like ladies. Women who stand up for themselves. Water. Giving. Children. Life.

I’m neither liberal nor conservative. I’m neither Democrat or Republican. I think what I think and no one can really dictate that. I pay attention to what I want to pay attention to, but at times I feel like I should pay more attention… but then when I do, I’m disappointed by what I see and hear so I go back to only paying attention to my interests.

Truth is… you can find something wrong in just about anything. But if you can find the right in it, that’s when more can be right all around.

I’m an eternal optimist. Get used to it.

And one of my fellow interns just dropped a very wise quote indeed that I wish to share:

Life is a reflection of the person who is living it.

And now I feel like quoting one of my favorite songs in the world:

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

This was post from a Free Write Friday prompt set by Kellie Elmore at Magic in the Backyard.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

mikael! oh wow! this is exactly what i was hoping people would do! just rant and vent and spill everything about what they think of when it comes to war, peace, presidents, the world and oh yeah BUSTIN JEIBER lmao! too funny! thank u so much! i am thrilled that you contributed to FWF and id love to have u back anytime u can come over :) thanks again!
kellie

Comment by Kellie Elmore




Sing to me!

