MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Post-March Madness… by Mikael

If you can’t tell, my write a blog every day adventure has kind of… fallen by the wayside this past month. In my defense, I’ve been uber busy. Like to the point where tears were shed over the stupidest things and I started to get really touchy about topics that aren’t worth getting touchy over. I don’t want to say I’m giving up on this “adventure”, but I have decided I only want to blog when I truly feel like it. Which does happen a few days a week but sometimes my time isn’t always so lenient… I’m thinking that’s the best way to go. Do what I can and not stress about not doing it every day.

Working in sports journalism/communications during the end of February through to mid-March (ahem, NCAA Championship time)… let’s just say I would not wish it on anyone valuing self-preservation. I was fine doing the work but the pressure added to it on top of school was a little cramming. Lots of stress eating went down with not enough workouts to counteract it… *sigh*

Spring break was last week and it couldn’t have been more welcome. My bro and I went down to Vegas, spent some quality time with my dad, stepmom, my dogs and a couple friends who live down there. I even met and danced with a guy who looked like a younger Patrick Dempsey at Harrah’s one night (*drool*). Did a lot of recuperating too… relaxing, reading (Sing Me Home by Jodi Picoult is my new favorite book), playing my gameboy (Pokemon Black is AMAZING!), went for a couple runs. It was just what I needed after the insanity of March Madness.

Did I also mention that I’ve started hunting for jobs for post-graduation? And that it is the most addictive thing I’ve ever done? Seriously! I have several websites that I check out at least once or twice a week. And once I start… it takes me at least three hours to pull the reins on myself. Searching for a job is quite exciting! Applying was a little nerve wrecking at first, but now I have applied to around 10 internships/jobs and waiting for responses while keeping on the ball for others. I do have my first interview on Friday though for a local news station internship, so that should be interesting.

So yeah… Just a lot has been going on. I’m praying this month will be a little tamer before finals crop up near the end. A look on the bright side though… I graduate in less than 6 weeks! Scary? You bet. Exciting? Even more so! I’m so ready to take on the big bad world. ;)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

6 weeks is a block of time that turn into 6 minutes before you are aware! Video and Pictures Most Important Now. Hire a frosh to follow you and take copious vids and pics. Used to be able to pay them with vodka slushies.. smiles…

Comment by booguloo

Haha, I like your idea… I know it’s going to fly so I’m trying to enjoy it as much as I can. Don’t know many froshes though so not sure if I can hire one on. ;)

Comment by Mikael

Don’t give up this adventure! I am being selfish. I just started and I like your posts. You are funny, down to earth, and truthful. No one needs to stress over this. I am using it for the opposite, to release it. Here’s an early congrats to the graduate. Cheers

Comment by livingvanilla

Thank you so much! I love blogging but posting every single day seems like an overkill sometimes. It is a GREAT release. Couldn’t agree with you more there. I’ll do what I can, I promise. ;)

Comment by Mikael




Sing to me!

