MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


A Year Ago Today by Mikael

I can’t help but think this song rings pretty true for me right now. This year has flown by at an unbelievable rate… but at the same time, I’m glad it has.

In fact, I almost feel like it’s my new year now instead of back in January. I feel like I have changed monumentally since April 10th of last year which was the starting weekend of a small not-so-great period of my life. Even though I certainly do not regret it (as I can look back and learn many lessons), it’s not a time of my life I am particularly proud of. It was only a couple months, but the after effects lasted much longer… But that chapter is past, done with, and I can drop any qualms I may have had lingering. Gradually, I have sluffed off the dead skin that remained from those toxic couple of months in my life that seemed to stick around–and it’s amazingly refreshing.

I have taken and will be taking on some great new challenges, have found out what I truly want out of my life, looking forward to some wonderful things, and have found the love for myself that I never thought I’d experience.

The music video depicts more of a love story and was really written about the artist’s fight against cancer… but think of this song, A Year Ago Today by Delta Goodrem, as kind of a farewell to my old self and an embrace to the me that I’m growing into.

It’s beautiful, is it not? Maybe I’ll do a cover one day…

Lyrics:

Another year older
A little bit stronger
A little bit wiser than a year ago today

Looking over my shoulder
I was so much younger then
I can’t believe what happened
A year ago today

And I just can’t forget about it
It wouldn’t mean a thing
You went away
A year ago today

Another year gone by
Oh the tears have run dry
Life seemed so unkind
A year ago today

And I just can’t understand it
And I don’t think I ever will
You went away
A year ago today

And how many times have I questioned myself
What more could I do
And how many times did I fool myself
Over you?

You’ve gotta pick yourself up,
Take another look
And dust yourself off cause life’s too good,
I’ll say it to myself and I’ll say it again
Lover will never end

And though we’re so far apart
You’re forever in my heart

Another year older
A little bit stronger
On this anniversary
You’re watching over me

You went away
A year ago today

You went away
A year ago today

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Sing to me!

