MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Grains of Golden Sand by Mikael

There are 10 days left until I graduate college…

HOLD THE EFFING PHONE!

That’s 10 days left of an 18-year chapter of my life justly titled “School.”

How can it be over just like that? My last day of actual classes was today and I only had one class out of three even going on… I feel like yelling, “What’s going on here?!” alla Timon in The Lion King because quite frankly this is weirdest realization ever. No more school. Time for real life.

Wait… what is real life anyway? As a kid you think real life is what you get to do as an adult. Once you get to the “adult point”, real life is what has been happening all along. It’s a pretty harsh realization but a good one to have nonetheless.

What is scary is that the older I get, the faster time seems to go. About five weeks back, booguloo left a comment about this. The past six weeks really have flown by in the blink of an eye (yes, I liked the rhyme). And now… gah! The time is nearly here!

The weirdest thing is that my finals this semester have been easy peasy but still intense in the “amount of work” department. I have a post coming about one of my final “requirements” that is pretty amazing so stay tuned for that.

But this past week has been extremely emotional for me. It’s not just college I’m saying good bye to… Last week, I seriously sat in Libby Gardner Hall (the main concert hall at my University Campus) for 45 minutes after class because I simply didn’t want to leave. Choir has been such a huge part of my life ever since I was 13 so to not have that anymore was an even harsher realization than the “time flies” realization. Then we had our final choir concert where we sang an Edgar Allen Poe poem entitled “Dream Within a Dream” as arranged by Debra Scroggins. I was nearly in tears on stage while singing the second stanza. One of my absolute favorite choral songs I’ve ever done, hands down.

Take this kiss upon the brow
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow-
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand-
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep- while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

I just had to share it because I feel like it’s ringing quite true to how I’m feeling about huge chunk of my life slipping away. It’s like the years of school that I’ve had are nothing more than the grains sand upon my beach of memories. I long to keep them close, to let them sit in the palm of my hand but I must let go of them in order to go forward from here. That beach, which holds much golden sand, seaweed, and even a couple crabs, will always be there. However, the gate to it is about to close… but I can still look upon it fondly through the fences. I know I’ll miss it.

Sigh.

Oh, my god… I’m graduating in 10 days. If there weren’t great things waiting for me this summer, I’d be scared shitless.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Life is all about transition, you’ll get there. Think of all the great moments to come!

“Even the best moments in life can’t be relived, only remembered”

Comment by Paris

Oh my goodness. This entry brings me back to when I graduated college. It was such a weird and exciting time for me. We’ll definitely have to have a celebratory drink in honor of graduation when we get to Vegas.

Can’t wait to meet you too! xox

Comment by Skinny Dip




Sing to me!

