MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Who I Will Be by Mikael
June 5, 2011, 5:49 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Futuristic Musings, Imagine, Love, Music, Open, Relationships, Remembering, Try

As I’ve done a major clean out of my room over these past few weeks to prepare to sell our house (sad, I know), I have found a few gems from my past. One of them was in a book/diary that told me to write a letter to my future self.

Date: December 25, 1999

Dear Mikael,

How my best qualities will help me succeed in life:
Singing will help me become a great singer.

My plans for self-improvement are:
No pushing or pulling on my voice.

My goals for the future are:
Learning to skate better.

When I grow up, I want to be:
A singer, teacher, and professional skater.

When I picture myself in ten years, I see:
A tall, beautiful young woman with dirty blonde hair with the career of a singer.

Sincerely,
Mikael L. Short

My thoughts when I was eleven...

Well… it’s about 12.5 years later and I’m pretty sure things have changed and my life isn’t quite as I expected it to be when I was 11 years old (which was quite shallow). Why don’t I rewrite this to suit me and my goals now?

Date: June 5, 2011

Dear Future Me,

How my best qualities will help me succeed in life:
I am a very compassionate person and apparently, that is a rare commodity in itself. I’m told that that will ultimately help me be successful in not only my relationships but my professional life as well. But I also know that I am smart, driven, curious, love learning and take pride in doing a good job which will help professionally. I will leep striving for whatever I want if I’m not there yet in 10 years… I know I can do it and will still work my ass off to get there.

My plans for self-improvement are:
Develop skills that will help me in whichever career path I choose, may it be broadcast journalism or publishing. Until I decide which one to pursue, might as well get as much  experience as I can. As far as relationships go, the relationship with myself has never been better so I can only hope that it improves from here. Then for friends/romantic interests, I hope to not be so gullible or to not fall for anyone’s crap. I have a habit of either trusting too quickly or not trusting at all so it’d be nice to find that balance since I know some degree of trust can be crucial to any relationship.

My goals for the future are:
Live/work abroad is a big ambition of mine so I’d love to do that if a better opportunity doesn’t show up. But I’d like to get my foot in the door either in journalism or publishing as that is the kind of career that I would enjoy most. Work my way up from the bottom. I want a good group of friends wherever I may be that can depend on each other and hang out often. Try out a few more guys as I discover what I want in a future partner. I’m still learning what I like and don’t like in the people I spend time with and there’s nothing wrong with that. I want to be able to see/talk to my family a lot still even if I live out of state. Ultimately, I’d like to stay true to me.

When I grow up, I want to be:
Happy with wherever I go with whatever career I may have. I want to have the opportunity to indulge my music passions every once in a while if not often. Hey… you never know. I may break into the music industry and I’d like to keep that door open just in case. ;)

When I picture myself in ten years, I see:
Ten years… so I’ll be 32. I’m pretty sure I’ll still be blonde and tall. I’m already confident but by then I may be even more so (hopefully not cocky though). However, right now I’m unsure of what my future may hold and in ten years, I hope I have a firmer grasp on that. I see myself potentially half-way up the corporate ladder in whichever career I choose. I see myself wanting to have a family and a home. I see myself doing the things I love which will always include music and the stage. And I see myself being more open and knowledgeable of the world and people around me.

Sincerely,
Mikael L. Short

Thoughts of a 23-year-old me...

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love it!!!!!

Comment by Ally Leale

How did little you know that you were going to be tall!?! :) I think it’s funny how simple our answers are as kids, yet also very specific. And as we get older, we learn to love ourselves and our lives and be happy with what fortunes we come across. :)

Comment by suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic]

Awesome!!

Comment by Devan

I love this. I think it’s great that you went back and answered the questions as who are now.

Comment by terra




Sing to me!

