MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Oh, the Zumba… by Mikael
August 3, 2011, 9:06 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Dance, Fitness, Good Things, Happy Dance Time, Updates

Okay, so I’m pretty sure I’m in love. Teaching Zumba Fitness is a wonderful experience every single time I do it. I can’t get over how much I enjoy it. The atmosphere is always fun and seeing the participants smile and hearing that they love the class is so incredibly rewarding.

Today a woman told me that my class tonight was one of the best ones she’s been at. When I told her I was a relatively new teacher, she was pretty surprised so that was a major ego boost. =)

Teaching takes about twice as much energy, but it is so worth it. Personally, I really like subbing at Curves. The environment is wonderful, supportive, and the ladies love Zumba Fitness and are really enthusiastic about it. They are really welcoming and kind. They are there to get healthy and Zumba adds a dose of fun to it, so they get really excited when they see one of the Zumba instructors there.

Mostly I am subbing at a couple locations whenever they need me for right now, including the Curves gig and one at my current gym. Teaching in a gym is a little more intimidating, but I make it work and it’s getting better every time. I’ve done it a few times so far while I build up my choreography portfolio (if you can call it that). I have a few new songs planned so hopefully they work out all right. At some point, I may take over one of my instructors three weekly classes so she can have that night with her kids instead. We shall see. *fingers crossed*

I still must say that my favorite moment teaching so far was when I was in Cali for my brother’s wedding. I taught a morning class the day of the wedding on the hotel terrace with some of the wedding folk as the sun rose… that was seriously a blast especially when I learned that people were dancing with us from their windows. Then we managed to top even that by busting out Pause in the middle of the post-wedding dance party. In dresses. In heels. Dangerously sexy and… gah! I just love that song, period. And of course, the groom joined us at some point in the middle of the song. XD

I’m not teaching any consistent classes yet, but that’s mostly because we are in the process of moving so I’m trying to decide where it would be best for me to teach (as in where I’ll be living or around my friends who want to come for convenience). I’m moving about 20-30 minutes away so we’ll see.

In the meantime, I’m loving teaching whenever and wherever I can!

Have you tried Zumba yet? Because you totally should. ;)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ahhhh I’m so sad I missed it last night. My knee was being a little bitch and making it difficult to even walk. :( I’m so sorry. I NEED to try Zumba, I know I’ll love it. I’m so happy you’ve found something you love so much. I can’t wait for you to have your own class!

Comment by Ameena




Sing to me!

