MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


A Postcard Home by Mikael
August 26, 2011, 12:13 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Free Write Friday, Imagine, Remembering, Roam, Writing | Tags: ,

Here is another Free Write Friday as created by Magic in the Backyard! Haven’t done this in a while but I felt like I should start doing it again. Here are the rules this week if you want to participate as well.

Close your eyes for a moment and imagine you are far from home. The reason does not matter, you could be in prison in a foreign country, you could be held hostage for ransom… you could have been swept away by a magical elf who stole you for his bride, it doesn’t matter.
All that matters is that you are gone and away from everyone and everything you know and love. Now this may evoke happiness because you desperately needed this time alone… or you may feel sadness and anxiety because you could never imagine being suddenly separated from your life and everything in it. Either way, you are completely isolated.

Now, you have the ability to send one postcard home. What would you say?

…be creative and don’t be afraid to throw in some humor if it comes to you.
Ready, set, write!

* * *

Home,

I’m sorry that I left you but I’m not sorry that I’m here. You know how you find someplace and immediately know that you’re supposed to be there? And not just be there, but stay? That happened to me the first time I came and now it’s like I never left.

Somehow, this land of my heritage has called me to a different home. Yes, I’ll miss my family and my friends back in the US but that doesn’t mean I can’t create a family and make new friends of my own here in London.

It may be bitingly cold in the winter, but the summers are nice and the sporadic rain that comes has a unique charm that only this place can encompass.

This is where I’m meant to be. Among the history, among the art, among the beauty.

Now if only I didn’t have to come back… if only my six-month visa doesn’t expire. If I could just stay here forever. Not to say that I wasn’t happy before; I was. But now it’s like I feel whole and complete.

I miss you, Home, but not nearly as much as I will miss London when you and I meet again. In fact, I will be missing it as soon as I step foot into the airplane. You may be a home but this is my new Home. London is just like that.

I’ll be seeing you,

Mikael

PS: Sorry for demoting you, but I still love you anyway!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you so much! This is great!!!! :) I’m thrilled that you decided to partake again! Big hugs!!!
P.s…will u please post your link in the comments for this fwf post? That way others can read it as well!
Thanks again, you’ve made my day!

Comment by Kellie Elmore

Nice write. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by booguloo

It’s wonderful when you find that place that you feel you belong.

Comment by Mama Zen

Maybe you can have two homes? I sense you are a bit torn between the two. Nicely done!

If you haven’t read my FWF postcard yet, take a look, please: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/dearest-wife/

Comment by charlesmashburn




Sing to me!

