MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Back to performing… by Mikael
September 8, 2011, 8:18 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Good Things, On Stage, Plays/Musicals, Remembering, Singing, TMJ, Updates

The other day I decided to go back to some of my earliest blog posts from July 2008 where I’m pretty sure I was the only one reading them and even far before my blog became known as MikShorty (circa Jan. 2010).

Former Blog Header

It is a little jarring to think of how off-topic my blog has come from my initial objective, which was to “document where I am in my music and theater productions (when I am in one)”.

Yep, pretty sure that’s only been about 25% of what I write about now because my life has become that much more awesome from other things as well. The transformation went from documenting my music, to my struggles with lock jaw, to how stress from school aggravated my jaw, to including loads of other things once I started really blogging consistently after my summer study abroad. Gradual progression, I guess. There’s always more to talk about than my music no matter how much it means to me…

But guess what? I’m going back to my original objective for today!

In the past couple months, I’ve had more chances to perform than I have in a long time. That could very well be one of the reasons why my happiness has been at a high level. Nothing gives me a high quite like performing does. =)

  • I’ve sung the national anthem at an MMA fight and am due to do the anthem again on Friday for the same series since they liked me so much. Did I mention that my first time singing for them was one of my best anthems ever? Because it so was… I killed it. Here’s to doing it again tomorrow!
  • On a whim with a friend, I joined the YSA (Young Single Adult) choir for their YSA Summit Fireside in the beginning of August. Got a chance to perform a second time with them at the choir directors ward a couple weeks ago too.
  • Of course, I had the auditions for The Voice last week (which so totally count as a performance).
  • And a few weeks ago, the bishop at the ward that I attend the most asked me to sing during sacrament meeting–so I perform on Sunday and I’m really looking forward to it.

And now I’m thinking about auditioning for a musical (Thoroughly Modern Millie) next week at a theater by my new house. That would be really fun… I miss being in a production. The last one I did was chorus stuff for Candide in the spring of 2008. In other words, it’s been way too long! Me thinks it’s about time to jump back on the theater bandwagon again.

I’m ready for the high again. ;)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Sing to me!

