MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Never Been by Mikael
November 17, 2011, 1:40 pm
Filed under: Poetry, RaNdOm, Writing

Or otherwise titled, “Because I feel like sharing my new poem…” since I’m still trying to figure out what it means.  The poem’s title is Never Been.

I wrote this in LA on Halloween.  I’m not sure what inspired it but I highly suspect John Boy‘s EP The Nocturnal Circus had something to do with it (and yes, I’m shamelessly promoting him more because he’s that spectacular and you should most definitely look him up–my favorite song is Paper God).  Go.  Listen. ;)

So here goes!

*   *  *

Never Been

I don’t understand
when Mom says she used to want
to join the circus. The circus
never comes by our town.
I’ve never seen one.
Mom says there’s a lesson
learned by staying put
but I still don’t know
what she’s talking about. She brings this up
whenever I say I want to
wear a dress. No one has ever
taken me to the circus… only photos
come to mind of elephants
standing on two legs, of men
donned in vibrant colors, of lovely ladies
who sparkle in the spotlight, and a mime.
Always a mime.
Unicycles galore, white amidst lions
roars, but tigers scare me
and tents seem unstable.
Why would anyone
want to join the circus?
But I will tell my mom that if
I can sparkle, I will
stay. If not, then I will go
join the circus
like she says.

*   *   *

I’m still trying to figure out who on earth in my sub-cranium begged me to write this poem because it certainly wasn’t me.  It’s from someone else hidden in my mind, someone I haven’t met yet.  I don’t even know if the person is male or female.  Maybe they want their story told next?  Has this kind of conundrum ever hit any of you fellow writers out there?

Please let me know what you think!  I’m curious to see what an audience would make of this piece since I don’t even know…

No magic yet today… working on it. ;)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

nice thought process.

http://seasonsofbrooklyn.wordpress.com/2011/11/13/like-you/

Comment by marvillebr




Sing to me!

