MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Happy Thank-list-ing! by Mikael
November 24, 2011, 12:30 am
Filed under: A Little Me, Family, Friends, Good Things, Health, Music

HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE!

I think it’s important to acknowledge everything that you are thankful for in your life.  Not only is it humbling but also is a good way to remind yourself of the things that mean the most to you.  Here’s my Thank-list-ing!  Well, after a Thanksgiving comic because it’s totally necessary.  ;)

My amazing family.  I really feel so blessed to have the family that I have.  They really are my favorite people in the world.  I couldn’t ask for a better or cooler family.  It may have been broken and rebuilt with different pieces and even twisty bolts that threaten the whole thing, but I wouldn’t change it for the world.  We’re just stronger because of those wonky bolts.

The few close friends I have.  I may have many friends and I’m grateful for all of them (people commonly say that I seem to know everybody), but I can say that only a rare few are “close” friends.  Although my two best friends live out of state, we are still in touch and it’s like nothing ever changes.  Those two and the couple of close friends in-state I have are friends that I’ve had for 10+ years.  I’m so grateful that despite time and distance, we are still able to maintain those bonds.

The love I have for my body and my health.  In a world where self-esteem suffers and body confidence is so dependent on the media, I’m so glad that I’ve gotten to know both myself and my body, learning to appreciate everything that I can do and will continue to strive to do.  I know not many people have that even though I wish every day that the self-depreciating epidemic would end.

The roof over my head, the warm bed I have to slip into at night, and having clean water to drink.  Leaving that warm bed in the morning during the middle of winter isn’t ideal… but it’s a widely known fact that millions of people in the world are sleeping in the streets and starving… that’s very saddening.  If only there could be a simple solution to that.

Music.  Being able to sing and express myself through music (in a way that isn’t painful for others) is a blessing in itself.  There’s nothing like music in the way that it influences both sides of the brain while also affecting emotions as well.  Music is magical.

Having an overall good and happy life!  Self-explanatory right? =)

I’d also like to include all of the awesome travel experiences I’ve had in my life such as studying abroad at Cambridge University, traversing Italy for two weeks, meeting awesome musicians in Ireland, climbing El Castillo at Chichen Itza (Mexico) right before it became closed to the public, and singing to an audience of 3,000+ for a cruise talent show when I was 11 (totally got a standing-O, btw).

Sure, I could list things like Grey’s Anatomy, Pokemon, the internet and JK Rowling but then I’d feel like a little silly. ;)

So what is it that you’re thankful for?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Sing to me!

