MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


That Lent Thing… by Mikael
February 21, 2012, 11:50 am
Filed under: Kurious, Open, RaNdOm, Try | Tags: , , , ,

Always around this time of year, people talk about giving something up for Lent. And it always confused me.

Now that I’ve done my research and found out that Lent is a 40-day period where Christians (generally–there are similar things in other religions too) look at their lives and cut out what may not be their best behaviors for the time between Ash Wednesday and Easter Sunday. I’ve heard people say they cut smoking, soda and other things that don’t contribute to a healthy lifestyle more than others.

Since Lent starts tomorrow, I’m tempted to try (cutting sweets or something) but I want more information… say in the form of testimonials?

I’m curious to know what you all think about Lent… whether or not you do it, your experiences, etc. I’m urging you ever so gently to share your thoughts below in the comments. ;)

Thanks!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I always do Lent because I’m Catholic and typically, I try to give up something like Mexican food or soda or something like that, but also add in a positive behavior like complimenting people or sending letters or keeping a gratitude journal. The basic point is to take away things that give you pleasure in order to prepare to celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus.

Comment by Meghan

Ooh, I like the idea of adding in something positive. Thanks for your input Meghan! What is it you’re going to do this year?

Comment by Mikael

I’m not Catholic, but I typically like to do something for Lent. This year I decided to give up sugar because my addiction to the stuff is disgusting and I like the idea of having a clear start and end date, which is helping to motivate me to really give it up.

Comment by Ameena




Sing to me!

