MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Let me perform, gosh dang it! by Mikael
May 15, 2012, 8:36 am
Filed under: A Little Me, On Stage, Plays/Musicals, Venting

Let me start this off by saying that Smash is amazing and that I can’t wait for next season!

But oh my gosh!! Watching this show gives me the performing bug like no other.

I swear there is not a performing scene in a movie/TV show that doesn’t draw me to tears. Case in point: when Lizzie McGuire sings at the World Music Awards in The Lizzie McGuire Movie, without fail, I cry every single blasted time. There’s always a song or performance in every Smash episode that makes me cry too. It’s all inspiring and yet heartbreaking at the same time.

That’s what I want need to be doing.

There can be no other explanation really.

Yet my situation right now doesn’t let me do a lot of that. Sure, I can post a YouTube video every now and then (by the way, have you seen my newest cover of “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” yet?), but it’s not the same as being on a stage, being a part of an ensemble and just performing your heart out and making someone smile in the process.

Like I’ve said countless times, there really is no better high.

In a sense, performing live is instantly gratifying. You know immediately if someone likes it–they applaud, hoot and holler. Online, you have to sit and wait to see for that kind of validation. That is, if you’re lucky enough to be the video someone watches among the millions on YouTube.

There are two auditions coming up–both are shows that would be amazing to be in.

  • Aida with the Sandy Arts Guild
  • 9 to 5: The Musical with Hale Center Theatre

And the auditions are during the same week in June. 9 to 5 is first, then Aida is a few days later (and consequentially on a night I work–extended dinner, anyone?). I want to audition for both… you know, up my chances of being cast in one or the other. I think I would make a killer Amneris (Aida). Just saying. ;)

But then (again) there’s the matter of my work schedule making it difficult to get cast since directors ask for conflicts up front. Work is kind of a conflict when you work half of the weekday evenings. Fufufufufufu.

I HATE THIS. Can’t I have a work schedule that allows me to be in a show too?

Maybe I should take the entrepreneurial path and be a freelance copywriter/editor/social media guru… Then I could make my own schedule and it would be fun!

Just a thought.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

As before with your last post on this issue, I feel your pain. So ironic as I posted a poem on my blog today which is all about the waiting game you refer to above! I’ve been feeling the same way about a few things, and it can be awful to be waiting for answers, waiting for opportunities, waiting for news, waiting for your turn or just waiting while you discover which bit of your life to get started living! Hope you work it out. PS… We don’t have that show Smash yet in the UK but I know what you mean, I had enough trouble coping with wanting to join he cast of Glee (i considered setting up my own Glee club) this would probably finish me ;))

Comment by ordinarylifelessordinary

Read your poem! I loved it–I commented. Haha… Waiting is really so awful. And as soon as Smash comes to the UK, you must watch it. You would love it! It’s a lot better than Glee and I’m a big Glee fan… ;)

Comment by Mikael

I really wish your work schedule would more readily permit you to perform because your talent needs to be showcased.

Comment by AlienAnessa

I know it’s easier said than done, but you find a way to make what you love (performing) come first and not have to bow to your job. It might be hard but not impossible.

Comment by Angela Neal

I can only think of one solution right now… Haha. I may follow through but I’m not sure yet.

Comment by Mikael




Sing to me!

