MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Learning to tolerate the pain by Mikael
August 13, 2012, 6:13 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Stories | Tags: , , , , ,

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?

Unfortunately, this is a lesson I’ve had to learn the hard way, though I can’t say if I’m any stronger for it.

When I was 17, I accidentally slammed the tip of my own middle finger in my car door. I scared the shit out of the 7-11 clerk when I came in with tear-soaked cheeks and a bloody hand, asking for the telephone. No joke, you could see all the way to the bone and it stung like a mother. The trip I made to pick up ketchup for breakfast quickly turned into a trip to the ER.

Five shots of numbing stuff into my hand, and a doctor was about to get to work stitching my fingertip back together. I turned my head away, not able to stand the pain or the gruesome sight. Then there was the piercing pain stemming right from the tip of that finger.

Against my better judgement, I jumped, pulled my hand away. Crying, I screamed at him, “That hurts!”

The doctor just looked at me like I was crazy. “You can feel that?”

I wanted to scream and yell at him for being such an idiot–for actually thinking that I would leap through the ceiling if I didn’t feel that.

It was then I learned that, like my dad, I have an extremely high tolerance for painkillers and numbing agents (I swear, I need at least 4 advil/ibuprofen to feel even a little relief). The problem with that is I have a relatively low threshold for pain. Go figure.

After another 5 shots of numbing stuff into my finger, they were finally able to subdue the nerve endings in my finger enough for me to actually enjoy watching them stitch my finger up. It was gruesome but since I couldn’t feel it, it was actually really awesome in the skater-boy-gashed-knee way.

The scar isn’t even visible now, but whenever I think of pain, that story immediately comes to mind. That needle that wanted to fix me up was the worst pain I’ve ever felt. Seriously, how would you feel if someone tried to give you stitches without numbing you? Yeah… that’s what I thought. Ouch. 

Now I’m not one for headaches, but Holy Hannah! This one I’m battling right now is ridiculous… it could be from the excessive hacking cough from the cold that’s plaguing me, or a lack of nutrients since my appetite is caput (likely it’s both). All I know is that this sucks because I can’t take Advil to alleviate it without downing at least 6 of them–which is actually really bad and harsh on your body. My friend made me aware of that when I tried to take 4 pills for a bad knee injury–he scolded me like a child for even thinking of doing it because of how bad it is.

Then I think back on that day and try and tell myself it’s not that bad. I guess I just have to suck it up and tolerate the pain. Guess it’s not the worst thing someone can go through…

So how do you handle pain? 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I actually had a similar experience to this about three years ago. I sliced my heel open and went to work with bandages covering it and an ACE bandage keeping the blood from gushing out. Then, I went to the ER and I felt every moment of the anesthesia and the stitching up. It’s terrible.

Comment by Natasha

Eesh, that does sound terrible. :S Just… ouch. Hope that didn’t leave a scar!

Comment by Mikael

wow, what an experience! :( i get regular lady aches and headaches, but i developed an allergy to ibuprofen a few years ago. at this point, i just tough it out as best i can. sucks major balls. i can’t imagine having a high tolerance for pain relievers

Comment by michelle




Sing to me!

