MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Cough Me a Break! by Mikael
September 19, 2012, 5:31 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Health, On Stage, Plays/Musicals, Try | Tags: , , , ,

Today a coworker asked me, “Are you sick?”

No, I’m just hacking up a lung because I think it’s fun! 

Seriously, I don’t know how everyone in my office hasn’t heard my incessant coughing attacks over the past few days.

It better stop by Saturday though. Girl’s got an audition! 

Yep, it’s the time for A Christmas Carol auditions. Again. And up until last week, I thought this was going to be my big shot–my time to finally get cast in a Hale production. Not only that, but it would turn my yearly tradition of seeing it into a dream come true for actually being in my tradition (if that makes sense).

And then I got sick.

What kind of sick cosmos is this??? 

At the very least, I’m glad I can carry a tune that sounds decent right now despite the coughing. Last week, that was not the case.

Least to say, I need my voice this weekend. My audition is counting on it.

If I don’t get in this show… I may just keel over and die a very slow, agonizing death. It will be the upteenth seventh or eighth Hale production I’ve auditioned for in the last two years. I need to freakin’ get into a show there! It’s my Utah Hollywood! 

On an up note, the director likes me thinks I’m really talented and that I need to keep auditioning at Hale. He told me this at a concert at which I bumped into him. That’s why my fingers are crossed so tightly, I may need an orthopedic surgeon to detach them.

I’m scared I’m not going to be able to do my best because of this illness, and that kills me.

So will this be my chance at a dream come true? Or my chance to embarrass myself by coughing through my audition? 

Let’s hope it’s not the latter…

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Feel better soon!

Comment by San

Thanks Sandra!

Comment by Mikael

I hope you feel better soon, lady! <3

Comment by terrabear (@terrabear)

[…] Cough Me a Break! […]

Pingback by So… what’s next? « .:. MikShorty .:.




Sing to me!

