MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


So… what’s next? by Mikael

So that audition I was all nervous for because of my cold?

It played out just like I thought it would. Embarrassing. I ran out of breath in the middle of a long line of my audition song… there was a small sliver of hope that I would be called back because my line reading was amazeballs. Who knew I could do a rockin’ Cockney accent?

Come Sunday — no call back.

I’d be lying if I said I am not disappointed, because I really am. It bugs me that a stupid thing like a cold could mess with my voice and my body so much that I couldn’t perform my best. And I’m still coughing, for Pikachu’s sake! Will it ever stop?!

One thing that’s helping me not be so bummed about this whole thing is this one thought:

Everything happens for a reason. 

So clearly I wasn’t cast in this show so I could pursue something else for the next couple months… but what is that other thing?

I have no effing clue. 

I feel like I could go a couple different directions and that doesn’t help. You’re looking at potentially the most indecisive person in the greater Salt Lake area. And with that indecisiveness comes many wasted hours watching my favorite TV dramas because I don’t want to think about what I should be doing–because I just don’t know!

My options:

  • Really, really, really knuckle down on working on my EP (a short CD of my own original songs)
  • Really, really, really jumpstart my search for a Zumba teaching gig in SLC (or just start teaching in the park)
  • Really, really, really focus on my novel(s) in progress, or start work on a short story or poetry collection
  • Really, really, really have myself committed since no one who is sane could tackle all three of those at the same time while working a full-time job and maintaining a semblance of a social life

(Okay… maybe not that last one. I just preferred the symmetry of four bullet points since I already used the symmetry of three with the really’s.)

Clearly, there is some reason my body was stricken with the worst cold I’ve had in a long time to make it so I couldn’t be cast in this show. There’s a reason. And I want to know the reason. Like… today.

Listening to your life is hard, I’ve decided. So many directions to take. How is a girl supposed to choose? Universe, a little help would be nice. You send me those nice emails every week day morning and a little guidance on what I’m supposed to do would be super.

If everything is supposed to happen for a reason… then what’s next? 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You should really do online Zumba classes. I would totally take them!

Comment by sarcasticallybitter

I could probably do it a couple different ways. Would you want it to be like a Google Hangout or a YouTube/Vimeo video to watch/dance along with?

Comment by Mikael

I would do it if it was a YouTube/Vimeo video!

Comment by sarcasticallybitter

Ok… I’d need a place to film! I will see what I can do. That would be fun! ;)

Comment by Mikael




Sing to me!

