MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


This is what college REALLY prepares you for… by Mikael

There was a busy day… and then there was an epiphany.

Flashback to finals week during college.

All of your classes are demanding superlative amounts of homework on top of the studying you have to do just to scrape through their final exam or project. Late nights are pulled and even some all-nighters. Caffeine is a fricking crutch just so you can function in the morning and by noon, you want to slap a bitch and eat a doughnut for the sugar spike to make it through the next four hours of class. And then there’s the endless, never-ending run-on sentences that you find yourself writing, at which point you want to slap yourself since you’re going to have to go back and fix them in the end anyway so you don’t effing fail your literary class because of a run-on!

Back then, I remember thinking, “Dear God! How am I going to make it through this? Real life is not like this!”

Uh, reality check. 

IT IS. 

Well, a lot of the time it is.

College didn’t prepare us for the things we learned, but it somewhat prepared us for the juggling of all the things–only it didn’t have a warning sign that screamed:

You better learn time management, sucker! And you better learn how to handle multiple things flying at you all at once because if you don’t catch them and put them where they belong in a timely manner, they will slap you in the face harder than a brick. Oh, and that passing grade you’re trying to get? That’s nothing when it comes to launching a website/publishing a periodical newspaper/and whatever the heck you’ll do for your job ON TIME AND DOING IT RIGHT.¬†

That’s right folks, there are rarely second chances. You get it right, and you get it right on your deadline. Or before. Whatever one you can manage to get everything done in time for.

This may be the story of my life right now. And why it’s all happening during the holidays, a time when it’s not only wonderful to sit back and relax with friends and family with hot cocoa, but a necessity, I’ll never know and I think I know who to blame (way to go, baby Jesus, this is all your fault).

Now you can sit back and relax and have a glass of wine or whatever your drink du jour is. I’ll have my Muscle Milk, thank you (just got home from pole), while I get back to my real work:

  • The monthly newsletter due by the end of the week.
  • Preparing my work’s website for a major section launch on Thursday.
  • All content for my big baby, the¬†Life in Utah¬†magazine, by Friday.
  • Oh, and that little thing called¬†NaNoWriMo¬†that ends on Friday too.

God, I love my life. :)

PS: Holla to the girl who wrote this whole blog post in less than 20 minutes! NaNo is training me to type super fast, I’m telling ya…

LOVE YOUR FACES! And good luck with all the crazy-ness that surrounds the holiday season. 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It is true. Real life is like that. I function at a high stress level all the time. Actually I function better at a high stress level than not.

Holidays are coming soon! :) Hope you have some time to relax!

Comment by sarcasticallybitter

High stress levels can only be good for so long! Haha…

Comment by Mikael




Sing to me!

