MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


Love Yourself First by Mikael
February 15, 2013, 6:32 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Love | Tags: , , , , , ,

Though it is the appropriate week to write about love, it feels awfully cliche.

Yes, Valentine’s Day was yesterday.

No, I didn’t have a Valentine and it doesn’t bother me. However, I was one of four ladies from my office out with one guy after work. He must have felt like a lucky gent, indeed. Then I made myself a bomb-sauce New York Strip Steak for dinner, and I’ve never been so proud of my new cooking skills.

I don’t have anything that could have made the grill marks, but it was still delicious!

I may have watched The Notebook and sobbed like a baby, but that’s between you and me, okay?

To polish off the night, I had a nice warm shower, had a long heart-to-heart with my journal, and slipped off into the land of weird dreams. I woke up this morning very pleased with my Valentine’s experience this year.

That may be because it was all about taking care of me. First night off of rehearsal in a month? You bet that’s what I’d do! Besides, it’s fun being a little selfish sometimes. 

One of my biggest issues with Valentine’s Day is the complaining that goes on. I don’t know if it’s because I got over complaining about Single’s Awareness Day many years ago or what, but I largely avoid social media as much as possible on Valentine’s (well, as much as one can when they manage social media for their job). People complain about people who rub it in everyone’s faces that they have the best love in the world, or that they just don’t have anyone to share it with. We get it; we’ve all heard it before. And it’s annoying.

I say screw what anyone else says and either spend time with someone you love (a friend/family member) or just treating yourself. Again, that may be a tad cliche, but I see nothing wrong with it.

Personally, I think the most important relationship someone can have is with themselves. For if you don’t love yourself, how on earth do you expect someone else to love you? 

When was the last time you loved yourself? 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are right – it starts with self. If we can’t love the person in the mirror – what we are, how we look, etc – how can we expect others to love us.

Good for you and that steak looks great :-)

Comment by Eric Alagan

i think all the melodrama surrounding valentines day is a clear indicator of how societial pressure taints romantic attachment. we want love more because others have it, we want an expression of our status in our relationship, as measured by social norms- all of this is more about who love makes us in the world, not a celebration of the relationship or our partners. i’ve run the entire spectrum: receiving a grand gesture, not receiving anything, the casual hookup valentine, the just started dating valentines day, the forever alone valentines day, and new this year, the single and rational valentines day. none of them really had anything to do with love.

Comment by catherinewells852




Sing to me!

