MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


How I Got Cast as Rapunzel by Mikael

We’ve all heard this saying right?

“Let down your hair so I may climb without a stair!”

And if you haven’t, you really had a deprived childhood. Who honestly hasn’t heard the story of Rapunzel? Especially now that Disney did their own take on it.

If you haven’t, go rent Tangled ASAP. It’s not the Brothers Grimm version like the one used in Into the Woods (it’s much darker than any Disney movie), but still, you can get an idea. And it’s a brilliant movie.

rapunzel_by_alicexz-d3ce8ma

So where am I going with this? I’ll tell you… You’ve twisted my hair enough.

I’ve been cast as Rapunzel in Centerpoint Legacy Theatre’s production of Into the Woods! I get to let down a cascade of beautiful blonde hair to my mother, the witch, and sing in my pretty soprano voice like I wanted to! I’ll be in the Tues/Thurs/Sat cast. :D

And there’s  a bit of a story on how it all went down…

I’m pretty sure I mentioned that I was going to audition for two shows this week. Well… that didn’t exactly happen. 

Centerpoint called me back for Tuesday. So I went and killed it. When the music director asked if I was a soprano, I had a strong gut feeling that they would consider me for Rapunzel.

Then I got another callback–for Rapunzel and Step Sister on Wednesday. I felt I did really well! There were only three other girls aside from me called back for Rapunzel, so I figured I had a 50/50 shot at the role. And then the waiting game started. I wasn’t expecting to hear from Centerpoint, if at all, until today (Friday).

I had already planned to go audition for Jekyll & Hyde at Empress Theater, so that’s where I went last night. Drove out there, got out of my car, forgot my belt, put down my purse, keys, forms, phone (everything that I basically needed to audition) on my front seat to put on my belt… and the wind blew my car door shut.

You know those little habits that, while handy, can get you into trouble?

Here’s mine: I lock my car doors before I exit my car. My passengers usually get irritated with me when I accidentally lock them in before they can get out. (I blame my first old car that didn’t have a key chain button to lock it. It was kind of retro and didn’t have that kind of capability.)

So… you may have guessed what happened. I locked everything I needed to audition inside my car. So I panicked–naturally–and went inside to borrow someone’s phone. Called Subaru to come out and unlock it, and they said it would take at least a half hour for them to get out to the theater as it’s way out west from the city.

The time passed, they came and opened my car. Within 5 minutes, I was gearing up to audition, putting my name on the list and filling out the form. Not even two minutes after I finished my form, I got a phone call from a phone number I didn’t recognize.

It was Centerpoint offering me Rapunzel! So, naturally, I screamed as soon as I got off the phone and leaped into my friend’s arms. Then I had to promptly remove my name from the Jekyll and Hyde audition list since it wouldn’t be fair to audition if I was already sold on doing Rapunzel in Into the Woods. 

If my car hadn’t held everything hostage, I would have auditioned for Jekyll & Hyde before getting the big call. Granted, I don’t know what would have happened had I auditioned for Jekyll & Hyde, but I loved working at the Empress in 9 to 5 so I know I would have felt awful turning them down if I had been called back or even cast. Now I don’t have to!

That’s one of my biggest fears being a compassionate theatre person–auditioning for multiple shows then having to turn one down. I still hope I never get into the situation, but you never know what’ll happen down the line!

I’m a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. Now I can’t help but think that the universe was watching over me and taking advantage of my clutziness so I wouldn’t have to say “no” to anyone. Clearly I’m not ready for that kind of encounter. ;)

To end this, let me just say that I have some amazing friends from both 9 to 5 and other theatre productions who auditioned for both shows with me. They are all extremely talented and I hope we get to work together again. A couple of them made Into the Woods with me (yay!) and the rest got called back for Jekyll & Hyde.

No matter what, I will be supporting them in whatever role and show they will do. I’m bummed I don’t get to work with as many of them in Into the Woods, but what can you do? I just hope their talents are used and that they will enjoy whichever adventure is waiting for them.

Here’s onto a new adventure as Rapunzel!

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m so happy for you that you got this role ! You’re incredibly talented and i’m sure you’re going to do great and make a lot of theater visitors very happy.

And after this role, please pick one where recordings are made, so certain foreign friends (me) can see you perform ! :p

Comment by Edw1nS1984

I’m so happy for you that you got this role ! You’re incredibly talented and i’m sure you’re going to do great and make a lot of theater visitors very happy.

And after this role, please pick one where recordings are made, so certain foreign friends (me) can see you perform ! :p

Comment by Edw1nS1984

Haha, I will try, Edwin! It’s hard with copyright laws…

Comment by Mikael

I do the same thing with my car doors!!

Also: YAY CONGRATS! It’s been so fun hearing about your shows! I wish I was closer so I could come see them, but I guess I will have to live vicariously through your updates.

Comment by Kelly L.

So glad I’m not the only one! LOL!
Maybe one day we’ll be close enough that you can see one. Or maybe I’ll just become a movie star… haha.

Comment by Mikael

Congrats on your casting! You’ll make an awesome Rapunzel! My husband totally locks me in our car all the time because he’s so fast with that door lock.

Comment by texancountess

A man after my own heart… haha.

Comment by Mikael

Congratulations !!!!

Comment by laurakrystel

Mikael, I am soooooo freakin’ excited for you. Sometimes little things happen for a reason… you clearly needed to be Rapunzel :)

Comment by San

Apparently! Haha…

Comment by Mikael

YAY!! I’m so excited for you, lady!! What an awesome opportunity!!

Comment by terra

Thanks Terra! I’m so stoked!

Comment by Mikael

[…] How I Got Cast as Rapunzel […]

Pingback by What is it about VEDA? | .:. MikShorty .:.




Sing to me!

