MikShorty has moved to MikaelShort.com!


What is it about VEDA? by Mikael
August 8, 2013, 9:19 pm
Filed under: A Little Me, Good Things, Vlogging | Tags: , , ,

Nothing lights a fire under my butt quite like VEDA does.

You know? Vlog Every Day in August? Yeah, that thing.

2012 was my first year participating in the 31 day challenge to film, cut and upload 31 videos to YouTube–then watch around 1,000 videos of other VEDA folks. Let’s just say it was a bit of a crazy month but I don’t regret it one bit. It was a blast! And the gag reel is still my favorite part of the game.

And this year, August is shaping up to be even crazier thanks to rehearsals for Into the Woods and my inability to avoid social situations with new friends.

You can find my 2013 VEDA playlist of videos below. I’m following the prompts as laid out by WeBlogWeVlog.com.

The people that I’ve met through VEDA are amazing, open-minded, quirky, fun and people who are unafraid to be themselves and bare-all on the web. I’ve made some awesome friends through it, and through BiSC, I had the opportunity to meet a few this year.

Aside from the wonderful people I’m getting to know, there’s something about VEDA that makes me get shit done. I wish I could pinpoint the “why” behind this… Anyone want to take a gander on that?

For example: last year, I expressed my dire want to get out of my parents house. I found a place in my budget before the end of the month, and was moved out in the first week of September.

This year, the idea of starting a side business, while it’s been brewing for months, seems to becoming more concrete. I’m being super proactive in learning up on everything I need to know to start a biz, all the legal stuff thanks to Small Business Bodyguard, and currently brainstorming on a name. Because the name is important, gosh dang it! I was thinking a play with Latin words, then that went to Italian and now I’m just like… “But I’m not Italian!” So it’s becoming this huge game of what to call my business and what to obtain a URL and business license for. This thing will be real in the next few weeks–I can almost guarantee it.

So yeah… VEDA makes me want to do more things and I actually do them. Even though my time is crunched. I don’t know why it happens, but I don’t mind it. It’s kind of invigorating and it’s a great challenge for the Type A in me.

However, right now I just want a good night’s sleep and a free night to lounge… haha.

What inspires you to get shit done?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love that VEDA puts the fuel behind your ambitions!

<3 you.

Comment by San




Sing to me!

