MikShorty


My AHA Moment! by Mikael
December 14, 2013, 2:25 pm
Filed under: Bloggy | Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve always loved theatre and performing, but from 2013-2014, I took it to the next level.

First came Joseph, then 9 to 5: The Musical, Into the Woods and then onto a parody of Lord of the Rings called Sort-of The Rings.

As I reflect on the last year, largely for Molly Mahar’s Stratejoy Holiday Council, the more I realize how great 2013 was. The reason being that I was so involved in something that I love so much. Also, much of the year was spent pondering my passions and which ones to really pursue.

Story Time!

Last week, the sweet woman who mans the front desk at my office said that she notices that I’m much happier when I’m in a show. I walked into work that day and she’s like, “Are you in a show?” I confirmed the question as I had just barely been cast in Sort-of the Rings and she was like, “I can tell.”

Now I will be the first to tell you that I have a good, fun job. For the vast majority of the time, I enjoy what I do and I get paid pretty decently for it for being at a nonprofit organization. However, it’s at my job that I got my huge “Aha!” moment for the year.

It was in September. I was rehearsing to be Rapunzel in Into the Woods at the time. In that show, everyone is a lead, but some roles don’t have as much stage time as others. For example: I was called to rehearsal and a couple nights I was up and working for 10 minutes out of the three hours… so I was memorized within the first week.

And yet, one day while working an average day–nothing remarkable, good or bad was happening, just a normal day–I found myself thinking, “Gosh, I can’t wait until I can go to rehearsal!”

That one little, simple thought sent me down a mind spiral. I was ecstatic at the thought of simply going to rehearsal. Not just performing, but the process of rehearsing and auditions excite me just as much. Since then, I’ve found even more joy in the audition and callback process. I love all of it, not just the end result.

That’s when I realized that I found my thing. My thing that makes everything in my life better. The thing that I love that no matter how good or bad everything else is, I can count on the whole process (audition, rehearse, bond with the cast, perform) to lift my spirit no matter what.

Now I know what I want for sure–I want to perform on Broadway, the West End and anywhere else I can get my little paws on, to gain experience from other talented performers and directors, and to tell stories to and touch audiences around the world.

From here on forward, I will be working towards professional and personal freedom so I can pursue my performance dreams. My time needs to be flexible so I can truly go after my dream, so I will be working on creating a life that I can take my work with me, wherever I may be. And I can’t wait!

Now I just want my “Aha!” moment to turn into a real-life accomplishment.

Have you had a big “Aha!” moment this year? What was it for? 


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

CONGRATULATIONS! On the parts, on your “Aha!” moment, and on being in such a fantastic place in your life right now. It’s exciting to see lovely people have such good vibes flowing through their lives.

Comment by Sweeney

Thanks so much, Sweeney! Let’s keep good vibes flowing towards everybody! :)

Comment by Mikael




Sing to me!